News

Quake Listing Appears, Including A Switch Version

QuakeCon 2021 kicks off today with a Quake anniversary celebration
QuakeCon 2021 kicks off today with a Quake anniversary celebration (Image: Bethesda)

It seems that QuakeCon is having some reveals leaked ahead of time, with the latest seemingly emerging via an ESRB listing. An entry simply called Quake has appeared, pleasingly including the Switch as a platform.

There are multiple reasons to believe that this may be pointing to some kind of celebratory re-release of the classic from 1996. For one thing, this year’s online-only ‘QuakeCon’ kicks off at 11am Pacific / 2pm Eastern / 7pm UK / 8pm CEST with a show titled ‘QuakeCon Digital Welcome + Celebrating 25 Years of Quake with id Software and MachineGames’. A big anniversary and the presence of a studio renowned for its work on FPS games, it’s subtle.

If you don’t know Quake well, it was a major release from ID Software in 1996 that followed on from the success of the original DOOM, in some respects providing another notable advance in the company’s technology and design. It is also renowned and still much-loved to this day for the way it revolutionised and introduced varied and fun multiplayer options, including support for the very early days of online play.

A re-release or remaster on modern hardware will certainly be exciting if it is indeed revealed later today. Playing Quake on the Switch – that’s rather dreamy for some of us of a certain age.

Would you be excited about Quake getting a celebratory anniversary release on Switch? We’ll be watching the live stream later and will update this article with any news.

Source link

Show More

admin

Makes Noise is a blog where you can find all the juicy details on a variety of topics including health and fitness, technology, lifestyle, entertainment, love and relationships, beauty and makeup, sports and so much more. The blog is updated regularly to make sure you have all the latest and greatest information on the topics that matter most to you.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button